The case of slow Visual Studio startup

In this post I would use Perfview /ETW to diagnose the delayed start-up of visual studio.

To analyze the problem start-up VS within Perfview as a run command

[gist https://gist.github.com/naveensrinivasan/5eb6406d6d38f2143acb]

This would launch visual studio and collect etw traces. I have also enabled CodeMarkers , which is ETW traces for Visual Studio in case if you want to trace any extensions performance.

perfview-mainAfter it completes I choose the CPU Stacks and filtered with devenv.exe process.

On the CPU window I choose call-tree tab which displays the threads.perfviewcpuviewThe most amount of time is spent on the start-up thread and that is what we want to zoom into.

groupedcall-stacksWhen I expanded it does not show the information and everything is grouped into OTHER which does not help me.

The reason for that is perfview groups call-stacks for better viewing. I cleared the “groupparts” textbox and then expanded the start-up thread.

actualcallstacksFrom the call-stacks I could make almost 42% of time is spent on Xamarin and DevExpress extensions within VS. Now I could turn them off and have a better performance.

Perfview is great tool for identifying where the time is being spent!

Leave a Reply

